The Importance of our Youth

One of the reasons I have always wanted to be a teacher is because of the potential I see in our youth. One instance I have encountered most recently is with the Z99 Radiothon. The Z99 Radiothon is a fundraiser built towards raising money to help save babies lives by donating the money towards the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU). Although this is a great idea, it would be nothing without the people who help donate money and make projects to bring in money. It is amazing how one mind can make such a difference. One day while driving home, my friends daughter, who is 8, heard the advertisement on Z99 about the Radiothon, to which she immediately wanted to help out. To help out this cause, she had committed to making Rainbow Loom bracelets in exchange for a donation. Simply through her Mom’s Facebook her project had sky rocketed and within hours she had pages of orders to fill! After many beginning hours of ‘looming’ and collecting donations, she has successfully raised $426 so far. I am so proud of this young lady and all that she has accomplished so far and cannot wait to see her end total!  

 

2 thoughts on “The Importance of our Youth

  1. Wow what a great little girl! That is what I hope to instil in my students is the want to do something and want to make a difference not just sit back and watch others accomplish things. You should be very proud of that little girl, I know I am! I love hearing stories like this it just makes everything seem ok!

Leave a comment