Tech Task 7: Mobiles for Learning

After attending our session with Liz Kolb about Mobiles for Learning it really had the gears turning in my head in regards to technology in the classroom.

I am interested in teaching more of the younger grades and have had experience in pre-kindergarten and kindergarten and in the fall for internship I will once again be placed in a kindergarten classroom. My biggest road block when thinking about being in that classroom is how to incorporate these tools with such young students!

Although it is really dependent on the school and I understand that this would not work in some situations, including my fall internship. But, I would love to get the parents involved using Remind 101.

Remind 101 allows you to send and receive messages through your cell phone without having to exchange numbers. I believe that this tool is genius because someones personal cell phone is something that could be quite confidential and some may not feel comfortable sharing their information.

Because of the young age of the students, relaying information straight to the parents is an efficient way to ensure that they are getting the information that they should know. Even to simply sending a message to the parents saying that, “A newsletter will be sent home with your child today.” This is something that I could see being very beneficial because sometimes it is really hard to get those notes in to the hands of parents and guardians.

Like I mentioned, although this is something that I will not get to try out in internship, I am excited to hopefully get to use this in my future teaching experiences!

Leave a comment